1,826 Days, or 260 Weeks and 6 Days

As my boss’s PA rushed into the office where we were interviewing, I knew what she was going to say: “Your wife’s on the phone you need to go home! The baby’s on its way!”

I’m not sure who was more shocked – me or the guy i was interviewing!

That day will forever be etched in my mind – I raced home in a bit of a daze to find my wife sitting on the sofa watching TV and our oldest child blissfully playing with his toys. Some 5 hours later we had dropped Jasper off at friends’ and were on our way to the maternity ward. I guess we felt a little like we’d been there, done that only 14 months before with Jasper, but if truth be told, I think you wouldn’t have had to scratch the surface deeply to find our true feelings.

I was just praying the labour would be shorter than the 36 hours we underwent first time round. Thankfully, it was a lot shorter and at 11.30pm Harvey slipped into the world.

What I love about Harvey is his strength of character. Unlike his older brother – or his dad, for that matter – Harvey isn’t concerned about what others think of him. If kids don’t want to play then that’s fine because, in his imagination, there are amazing adventures to be had and games to play. I love that he wakes up most mornings singing. I love that he hugs as if his life depended on it. I love that he introduces himself to everyone and anyone and isn’t encumbered by social protocol. I love that he gives out of a generous heart. I love that he enjoys curling up on the sofa on a Sunday afternoon to watch a film with me.

1,826 days of Harvey-filled life have been amazing. I am lucky to be able to call him my son and I am definitely a better, more enriched person for having him in my life.

So, DadTalkers, I dedicate this Monday blog to Harvey who is five today. I love him unconditionally – all the way to the moon and back.

And just in case you were interested: yes, the guy got the job, but he didn’t stay very long!

About MongoliaMan

I'm married to Philbe and Dad to Jasper and Harvey. I am passionate about the unique role that fathers make in their childrens lives and I'm passionate about Jesus. I love chilling with my family, shopping for vintage clothes and reading a decent design mag with a cup of coffee in my hand. I work with roughsleepers.
This entry was posted in DadTalk, Fathering, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment